top of page

MomFit Tip#1-Take Every Opportunity To Move

Updated: Mar 24, 2020

I am going to be blunt with you. There is no room for blind acceptance any longer.

So take a deep, breath buckle up, and get ready to face the facts.


If you aren't loosing weight 1 of the 2 key elements in weight loss is lacking. Either you are not eating right or you are not moving enough, in some cases you are doing neither of these things. If you want change and are ready to accept where your failures are then lets begin with step 1.


Movement is one of the 2 key elements in being healthy. The more you move the more calories you burn.

Simple.

You can not argue this fact.


This brings us to MomFit Tip #1.


Take EVERY opportunity to move.

The ability to track your movements with technology is upon us.

No more excuses.

If you have not started using this technology to your benefit I suggest you start now. You do not have to have an expensive device to track either. There are many different versions and price points to choose from-which I think is amazing! Most smart phones actually have pedometers built in now so you don't actually have to have a step counter or smart watch to start tracking. Open up your health app and take a look at where you are at.


I do suggest, if you want the most success in your fitness journey, to purchase a smart watch that tracks not only steps but your workouts. My favorite is the Apple Watch because it is the most accurate, it doesn't count wrist movements as steps and gives a real picture of the amount you are actually moving.

Taking a look at how much you are actually moving can be a huge eye opener.

Fitness experts say 10,000 steps a day is healthy. This should be your goal if you are trying to loose weight or stay fit.


Let me be honest with you guys. When I first got my counter I was walking maybe 3,000 steps A DAY! That is way below the 10,000 healthy step goal. I was surprised. I am a stay at home mom, I am chasing toddlers, how can my steps be so low. Let me tell you how...because I didn't want to admit how much I was sitting. I was telling myself I was doing more then I was. Seeing the number made me accountable to being honest with myself. I was so upset that my number was low that I starting setting a goal to get more steps every day. This helped but what really got me moving was starting the MomFit step challenge. I had something to work towards and others doing the challenge with me.


But counting steps is not the only way we can make sure we are moving.

I read a book recently on better parenting. It really opened my eyes to how kids think and perceive things. One of the quotes from the book was "get off the couch and interact." As a stay at home mom this hit me hard. So I have started changing things like...


1. Keep the tv off until after dinner

2. Go on a daily walk

3. Play movement games

4. Make sure everything is cleaned up before sitting

5. Take the stairs


Small steps can lead to big success.

Keep these 5 movement tips in mind as you carry out your day and see if you see an increase in your steps.


Until next time loves

😘Smooches😘




3 views0 comments

©2017 by Mom Fit. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
bottom of page